Dell XPS 13 2-in-1 Tiger Lake Review | 2021 Laptop/Tablet Hybrid Tested

Reviewing Dell’s XPS 13 2-in-1 laptop/tablet hybrid in 2021, with Tiger Lake smarts. I’ve been testing this flexible notebook for a fortnight following my review of the XPS 13 9310, just before we hit 2021. Here’s how the gaming performance, battery life and other bits hold up vs best rivals like the MacBook Air M1, if your budget stretches to that £1400 mark.

Dell’s 2-in-1 laptop boasts the latest Intel Gen 11 chipset for smooth everyday running and capable creative work. This is one of the best ultraportable notebooks around, and tough competition versus Apple’s new Macbook Air M1 (and even the Pro). It’s skinnier and lighter than those Mac laptops, with a flexible design that converts into a tablet. Although the keyboard isn’t as good as the XPS 13 9310, the display is another stunning Full HD LED panel. With full touch controls naturally.

The XPS 13 2-in-1 also offers respectable battery life, although vs the Macbook Air and Pro with Apple’s M1 platform it can’t quite compete. Check out my review of that Macbook Pro for all you need to know, and I’ve also fully tested Dell’s 931 here on Tech Spurt.

47 Comments

  1. Gobo Fraggel on February 27, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    I managed to rack up $800 in Dell credits and another $200 in credit card rewards points. So many things I can buy but this laptop is calling out to me.

  2. SeeMz on February 27, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    You played fortnite on it???

  3. sbrahma2006 on February 27, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    DON’T BUY XPS 9310 LAPTOP Series. This series has a screen flickering problem and all users are struggling with it and even Dell is not able to fix it. I have received my New laptop and it has screen flickering problem and Dell doesn’t know how to fix it. DON’T BUY XPS.

  4. Manoj Rai on February 27, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    I’m here because of a Mikasa wallpaper

  5. Raj Gandhi on February 27, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    Nice video! Do you have the full specs of the unit you reviewed?

  6. Makeela Riju on February 27, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    YouTube is fucking you up Chris. You don’t show up on my notifications.

  7. Robb Ryan on February 27, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    I’m wondering if the "black screen" issue is related to drivers. As the Intel Iris Xe graphics is new, there could still be bugs in the drivers.

  8. John Haynes on February 27, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    Woot the fook is a rooter

  9. Tray on February 27, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    2 in 1 is one of the best creations when it comes to PC’s.. Like once you go (2 in 1) you don’t wanna go back. The convenience of being able to just simply tap the screen vs the annoying touch pad or a mouse is amazing. The only thing is that ,your brain eventually gets use to touching the screen that when you go to use a normal laptop your sitting there trying to tap the screen and wondering whats wrong with your computer because its not working. People always crack up when I use their computer and I’m looking like a nut case trying to tap the screen because its how I use my computer and I completely forget. In a few years ALL laptops are most likely going to be 2 in 1, it only makes sense in this day and age people love versatility and ease of use. Now they do cost a pretty penny if you want a high quality one but if your like me and like to change things up for different applications 2 in1 its worth the investment. I currently have a Dell Inspiron 7506 2 in 1 I7 and a Dell Latitude 9510 2 in 1 Core i7 Pro love them both and use them equally I literally juggle between the two at the same time and the tent mode is my favorite way to use them for multitasking. The latitude is my BEAST!! As time goes on they will become more affordable for everyone because people don’t just have the money to be dropping thousands on a computer especially during C-19 era so my only hang up is they need to make it more affordable for EVERYONE.

  10. Financial Millennial on February 27, 2021 at 10:53 pm

    Are those standard USB ports to plug in mouse or iPhone charger?

  11. Sanjay Barua on February 27, 2021 at 10:56 pm

    That Roar tho! xD

  12. Brian Pipenur on February 27, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    I have it and like it with one major disappointment. The edges are VERY sharp and dig into the skin when typing, making it quite uncomfortable.

  13. BMHater12 on February 27, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    Give us the source of that Mikasa wallpaper brother

  14. Emmanuel Pere on February 27, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    He was rewiewing the Dell XPS 13 2019

  15. -EM- on February 27, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    no, it is not.

  16. Darryl on February 27, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    YouTube’s hidden gem. Really enjoy your videos, rate them up there with the most popular tech reviewers. Hoping 2021 brings you success.

  17. Shawn Afshar on February 27, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    Good for traveling and editing youtube videos ?

  18. Aditya Singh on February 27, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    Do you watch anime?
    Attack on Titan

  19. Aziz Amin on February 27, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    the hp envy 360 is kinda better with an amd chipset and better port selection

  20. Vaishnav Raj Moorkoth on February 27, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    Sir, please put up a video about your favourite wallpapers 😀

  21. D S on February 27, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    I’m using a Latitude 5289, and paid 1/3 of what they want for a new model.

  22. Al M on February 27, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    This or Samsung flex 2

  23. Frank Cosgrove on February 27, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    Nice review, I bought the fully specced model, it’s been excellent without any bugs.

  24. Davie Browne on February 27, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    Between the Dell XPS 15, Asus Zenbook Duo and HP Spectre which one do you recommend overall?

  25. Thanhtacles on February 27, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    You need to learn how to use button scrolling correctly. Up down and page buttons are so useful for scrolling through garbage

  26. Oscar on February 27, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    As a xps 13 2-1 user, the easiest way to deal with the dog shit page up/do keys is to download sharp keys and re bind them to the left and right arrows respectively. It’a a small thing but that 5 minutes it took to install has made a huge difference in my productivity. Great review!

  27. Winter Maryland on February 27, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    Is the keyboard backlit?

  28. ledion koci on February 27, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    A ridiculously expensive piece of rubbish.
    Next year will be already old and sluggish as hell.

  29. Daniel Joseph on February 27, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    Had the same display issue, a couple seconds the screen would go black followed by a 1 second no signal display, and then come back on.

  30. TM Bowmanwood on February 27, 2021 at 11:21 pm

    Funny. Great review. Thanks.

  31. Not Loki on February 27, 2021 at 11:21 pm

    Laptop is not meant to be used for editing Excel Spreadsheets.

  32. ĐỨC Nguyễn on February 27, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    So you a weeb

  33. δημος δημοσθενους on February 27, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    did he said 5-6 hours only? how is that possible?my 10 year old hp lasts for 3-4 hours.did he meant 15 hours?

  34. Thanhtacles on February 27, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    I am so damn happy they restored the PgDn and PgUp buttons correctly right next to the arrow buttons where they belong. Drives me nuts there’s so few laptops I can use because of that.

  35. Aki Dieter on February 27, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    Amazing video!! I have a question is the SSD soldered on the Board?

  36. cataMailman on February 27, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    I’ve got one myself. I actually really enjoy the keyboard. I compared typing speeds between the XPS2in1, Surface Pro type cover, HP spectre x360 15 and a mechanical keyboard with red kailh switches. Result: pretty much the exact same speed and number of errors between the XPS, type cover and spectre. A little higher typing speed and fewer mistakes on the mechanical keyboard (but not by much). So no problems there. However, once I got used to it, I really enjoyed typing on the shallow maglev keyboard of the XPS 2in1. It is just… fun! It feels really crisp and direct compared to the mushy feeling of the spectre for example.
    Battery life: I get way more than 6 hours on a charge. Honestly, this thing just never seems to die. The battery monitor that I have used for a while puts it at around 10 hours in my usual mixed use (office, browsing and some video).
    Pro Tip: I almost never use the page up and down keys but I need the home and end keys constantly. So I used a free tool called "keytweak" to remap these buttons. After getting used to the layout, the accidental key presses won’t happen anymore and with the adjusted key bindings text editing becomes a breeze.

    The only negative things I can say about the device are the screen brightness that (as you mentioned) just doesn’t get very LOW. Also, I would have loved to see a USB A port.

  37. Azu olage Buga ou guga boy traylerr gameplay SANE on February 27, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    Pelonaaa u are wrestler

  38. Melody Queen on February 27, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    7:45 that’s gigaBYTES, my friend. 2gigaBIT write speed would be unimpressive indeed

  39. Financial Millennial on February 27, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    Did you get a anti-glare screen for it? It seems to not have that. I wonder if it affects the quality

  40. Zibanani Nkomo on February 27, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    I need to afford this, real bad

  41. Miniblitz on February 27, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    Can we get a comparison of this with the HP Spectre x360 14?

  42. M JP on February 27, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    Hi, I’m currently using an old ipad pro which I love but , I’m need to change to a laptop something I can use for my studies but that is lightweight that I can still use my data sim in. I would preferable 2 in 1 that is fast but very capable for lots of different task.
    Can you suggest anything?

  43. PINK USER on February 27, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    Season 4 of attack on titan came out weeks ago.

  44. Conan Rintaro on February 27, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    Give us the collection of your wallpapers

  45. ArdiMaster on February 27, 2021 at 11:37 pm

    Damn. Between this and the Surface Pro 7, Microsoft is once again making it kind of tough to buy their products…

  46. Paul on February 27, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    But the most important, what is the Linux compatibility?

  47. Silvio on February 27, 2021 at 11:40 pm

    Another one with Intel only. I pass

Leave a Comment