DJI FPV drone review: fast and furious

DJI is joining the cinematic FPV trend and is releasing its first FPV drone. The drone is bundled together with DJI’s existing goggles and a brand new controller. We take a look at how it compares to the rest of the market and how hard it is to fly FPV?

Correction: At 10:09 I say the obstacle sensors only work in manual mode. I misspoke, they only work in normal mode.

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics policy: http://bit.ly/2TQsqjB

You can get the DJI FPV here: http://bit.ly/3sI76eo

Learn more: http://bit.ly/3bVBSJJ

Special thanks to Reza for helping with the review, check his Instagram for more fun FPV content https://www.instagram.com/inspirefpv/

Subscribe: http://goo.gl/G5RXGs​
Like The Verge on Facebook: https://goo.gl/2P1aGc​
Follow on Twitter: https://goo.gl/XTWX61​
Follow on Instagram: https://goo.gl/7ZeLvX​

Why’d You Push That Button Podcast: https://pod.link/1295289748​
The Vergecast Podcast: https://pod.link/430333725​
More about our podcasts: https://www.theverge.com/podcasts​

Read More: http://www.theverge.com​
Community guidelines: http://bit.ly/2D0hlAv​
Wallpapers from The Verge: https://bit.ly/2xQXYJr​

Subscribe to Verge Science on YouTube, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: http://bit.ly/2FqJZMl

45 Comments

  1. Thianna Heron on March 4, 2021 at 10:32 pm

    Hmmm not sure about it but as far as i know drone world started in the diy…

  2. Larry David on March 4, 2021 at 10:33 pm

    I think the drone should absolutely NOT stop the motors if it crashes because it’s nearly impossible to detect when that happens in the FPV world. A software fix would presume the motors would stop at a given resistance which could mean the drone just stops and falls out of the sky in some scenarios. I’m actually surprised DJI told you it was a bug — Un-arming the motors should be pretty easy to do with a single button press —, but hopefully they can implement a decent threshold level for that.

  3. origami master on March 4, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    This is probably the BEST FPV DRONE EVER!!!!

  4. Jun on March 4, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    Nice FPV drone and definitely need quite some practice before real go.

  5. Ross Bentley on March 4, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    Great review!

  6. Jack Hutchby on March 4, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    Okay, from a fpv pilot whose been in the hobby for a couple years here’s what was wrong.

    Flight time is incorrect, us fpv pilots only get around 3-4 min (depending on a whole lot of variables) per flight for a standard 5” size drone. (The dji drone is in the 5” size class)

    Analog Range: analog systems can go very very long range just like digital systems can. I flew I think 4 miles away the other day on an analog drone.

    Great video though, I hope this will get more people into the hobby

  7. Sreyash Dasari on March 4, 2021 at 10:38 pm

    I have crashed my mavic a few times and it’s always running the motors after crash

  8. Maximilian Ortner on March 4, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    what about photos? how do they look and it’s possible to take them?

  9. The Verge on March 4, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    Where’s the worst place you crashed a drone?

  10. Kevin Masters on March 4, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    Seriously, flying FPV without crashing is something that just doesn’t happen! Also this was your first time on it!

  11. chris Anderson on March 4, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    Why are y’all even making a video on this

  12. Eskander X on March 4, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    That skateboard clock though…
    Genius idea.
    13:35

  13. Johnny B. on March 4, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    Okay so important question from both a professional and hobbyist point of view…I own a Mavic Air and use it for Real Estate/Business promo videos…will this work the same as far as cinematics go? Seems like it would. Thanks in advance for the info!

  14. RotorBobFPV on March 4, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    If you’re not crashing, you’re not learning, so things will get expensive fast.

  15. Damien Lewis on March 4, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    What is the hard case brand / model you use for this dji drone?

  16. Farid Fadilah on March 4, 2021 at 10:49 pm

    Reza kurniawan?? Sounds like indonesians name, CMIIW

    Is he the champion of drone fpv racing in USA?

  17. furbs on March 4, 2021 at 10:49 pm

    At least pretend to be excited jeez

  18. Satyaranjan Rout on March 4, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    I can feel the headache

  19. Chris Jay on March 4, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    When DJI makes a drone that has acceleration comparable to a Tesla…. wut

  20. ere on March 4, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    It is not 0 to 60. It is 0 to 100

  21. Michael Thomas on March 4, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    Why are you wearing a mask by yourself outside of an abandoned building? Virtue signaling?

  22. PsychoFlyer1 on March 4, 2021 at 10:52 pm

    Crashing is part of flying an fpv drone…don’t stress, just get back on that horse and ride! Maybe give yourself more of a cushion before you go forest diving again 🙂

  23. Test Account on March 4, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    A crash like that should not have trashed the drone. If you want to lean to fly in full manual mode don’t buy this as you are going to seriously regent it.

  24. No Name on March 4, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    Anyone get a notification that fly more package shipped separately from the actual drone? DJI just sent me an email saying the flymore package has shipped, but not the FPV drone? Like what is the point of doing this? I know you want to get stuff out the door, but I can wait. I have no need for the batteries without the drone. I could understand the other way around.

  25. Home of Creation on March 4, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    The reviewer and commenters are obviously not into FPV. For a better and full review go to Joshua Bardwell and KababFPV.

  26. Adrien Pinard on March 4, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    The defective rooster geographically request because spider intringuingly post amid a bite-sized white. determined, intelligent quartz

  27. Octavio on March 4, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    Thousands of these will crash right away!

  28. Naushad on March 4, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    i liked dji fpv drone
    DJI FPV : @t

  29. Blender Wiki on March 4, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    Another laughable the verge reviews

  30. chris Anderson on March 4, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    WE GET IT DJI MADE A NEW DRONE. My entire YouTube suggestions are full of this new quad

  31. Xplore on March 4, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    DJI is going to make a killing off repairing these heaps of plastic xD If you’re serious about getting into FPV don’t buy this thing.

  32. Luckyme Fpv on March 4, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    Yeah inspirefpv!

  33. Humphrey Smiggens on March 4, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    Practice in acro ON A CHEAPER QUAD people!

  34. Zeus Starfall on March 4, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    Wow

  35. Chris Kelly on March 4, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    Manchester United

  36. seven henson on March 4, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    i cant imagine what kind of drones china has in its military arsenal..

  37. PEI Real Estate - Michael Poczynek on March 4, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Very cool. Thanks for making this video.

  38. angul dost on March 4, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    just go watch the joshua bardwell review at this point. he goes much more in-depth and actually knows what he is talking about

  39. Dieter Preiser on March 4, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Got my drone today but am unable to activate aircraft. The DJI Fly app from Google Playstore is not current. It does not have the drone as one of the aircraft. VERY DISAPPOINTED!

  40. Gabriele Vinci on March 4, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    FPV for the dumbs.

  41. seven henson on March 4, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    i might puke flying at 140kmph without feeling it in my body

  42. Graham Scarr on March 4, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Looks great but fragile for an fpv drone

  43. Supa FPV on March 4, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    Beginners please learn proper fpv before buying this

  44. Arunav Baruah on March 4, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    He was wearing mask, lol, how stupid.

  45. rere439 on March 4, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    "I didn’t test Motion Sensor stick, I am comfortable with standard stick". BRUH, are you even a Journalist? For god sake

Leave a Comment