DJI Mavic Air 2S review: new sensor makes all the difference

Despite being less than a year old, DJI is updating its popular Mavic Air 2 drone and is releasing the Mavic Air 2S. A drone with a new 1-inch sensor capable of shooting 5.4K video and 4K video up to 60FPS.

Read more: https://bit.ly/3uRYpPz

Subscribe: http://goo.gl/G5RXGs
Like The Verge on Facebook: https://goo.gl/2P1aGc
Follow on Twitter: https://goo.gl/XTWX61
Follow on Instagram: https://goo.gl/7ZeLvX

The Vergecast Podcast: https://pod.link/430333725
Decoder with Nilay Patel: http://apple.co/3v29nDc 
More about our podcasts: https://www.theverge.com/podcasts

Read More: http://www.theverge.com
Community guidelines: http://bit.ly/2D0hlAv
Wallpapers from The Verge: https://bit.ly/2xQXYJr

Subscribe to Verge Science on YouTube, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: http://bit.ly/2FqJZMl

45 Comments

  1. mrngoitall on April 29, 2021 at 10:29 pm

    Anyone else get lost in the beautiful drone shots of SF and had to rewind once they snapped out of it and realized there was narration? No? Just me?

  2. The Sheridan Files on April 29, 2021 at 10:29 pm

    Great review. I have been on the fence for years afraid of losing my drone. Waiting this long may have paid off. This review may make me pull the trigger. Again, you were very honest, thanks.

  3. The Verge on April 29, 2021 at 10:30 pm

    Do you plan to purchase the Air 2S or wait for the Pro 3?

  4. Flex Plexico on April 29, 2021 at 10:30 pm

    Did ya’ll have the proper permits and licences to get and use these shots in a commercial setting?

  5. Teomino on April 29, 2021 at 10:31 pm

    Mastershot of dog and dog tracking any chance?

  6. Erik Dreyer on April 29, 2021 at 10:31 pm

    Where was this footage taken? City?

  7. Misael David on April 29, 2021 at 10:33 pm

    will the new DJI Air 2s will work on a Ipad MIni 4? i would hate to buy another device.. I’ve been using the Ipad mini 4 since the Mavic 2 pro

  8. Daniel Bass on April 29, 2021 at 10:33 pm

    What about the controller… do you use a drone like this just to fly for fun? Or only to film footage?

  9. Andrew Reeves on April 29, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    great vid. Ordered, still waiting. Order processing….Argh!!!!

  10. kahp23 on April 29, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    mavic 3 will appear in 2 months.. . .

  11. BertoBeats on April 29, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    As someone who used to live in North Beach this video is making me super nostalgic

  12. MARCOS on April 29, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    Brasil esse drone é muito bom ótima câmera imagem 4k vôo leve ótimo pra fazer gravação

  13. MARCOS on April 29, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    Você deveria me presentear com um Drone desse seria legal fazer vídeo aqui no Brasil

  14. Just Travel Everywhere on April 29, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    This is not the upgrade!!! From the air is upgraded from 2 !!! Before some months!! Just tell right things

  15. DroneStories on April 29, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    Fine ! Lets compare the 4k 60 from AIR 2 vs 4k 60 from Air 2 S.
    Uncrop vs crop

  16. Six Demon Bag on April 29, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    Is LAANC clearance all you need to fly next to those skyscrapers?

  17. Matt Do on April 29, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    I just got my Air 2 for Christmas and now this happens…

  18. Canadian Youtuber on April 29, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    I assume thats a different Phil Esposito producer lol.

  19. Alex Xie on April 29, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    bruh i wish i had waited a few months to buy a drone cuz now im torn on whether to spend a few hundred bucks to resell my MA2 and upgrade to the A2S or to just live with noise video (I like to film in lower light scenarios so the 1-inch sensor is a huge plus for me)

  20. The Real Jimmy on April 29, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    Not in the least bit excited for the 2S but way more excited to consider a DJI Pocket 3 with a 1 inch sensor since DJI tends to pair them together and leap frog them. In the order of Mavic Air/OSMO Pocket, Air 2/Pocket2. So lets hope for 2S/Pocket 3 to continue the tradition of sharing the same sensor. And with that Moaz screen competition, lets see if DJI will use that accessory port to include a flippy screen and a 1 inch sensor!!!!

  21. Dhimas Ginting on April 29, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    you keep comparing to the mavic 2 pro which isn’t fair. we want to know is it worth to buy in its price point. not the lack of features compared to its big brotherm

  22. Tsai Joy on April 29, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    2:16 why is the video shot in Taipei? is the verge based here too?

  23. Jet Martin on April 29, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    The DJI Air 2S is an amazing drone and I believe it is fairly priced compared to what is on the market today BUT keep in mind that while this drone list at $999 when you buy what I would consider the essentials for it…Namely: Fly More Combo (gives you 3 batteries plus other goodies), 1 yr of DJI CareRefresh (basically "Crash/repair/replacement insurance" ) and then with Taxes…you’ll be sitting at $1,500 (depending on your sales Tax rate). My only point here is don’t be lured in by the $999…you’ll be spending 50% more than that to get what I consider to be the essentials. Unless you REALL REALLY REALLY need the 1" camera sensor I think the DJI Mavic Air 2 is a MUCH better value and for all practical purposes just as good as the Air 2S. And if you are wondering…the Mavic Air 2’s camera is no slouch…it’s pretty damn great.

  24. Ibrahim khilji on April 29, 2021 at 10:55 pm

    He keeps saying mavic air 2s, whereas it is air 2s only 🙂 nevertheles, nice video, thanks for sharing.

  25. Justin Wong on April 29, 2021 at 10:55 pm

    my Air 2S flied 1km in an open area then no signal, and flied 200m over top buildings then no signal
    I have mavic pro 1 before, but totally not this weak

  26. Nafiz Haq on April 29, 2021 at 10:56 pm

    DJI has lost the plot ! Rather than launching a new Mavic pro, they came up with literally the same drone launched a year ago with S on it !

  27. Aake Ahonen on April 29, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    Correct me if I am wrong but you can change shutterspeed midflight on mavic air 2. There is no shutterlock based on chosen fps.

  28. Mr. D on April 29, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    Does it work the smart controller?

  29. syrianization on April 29, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    Do you think eventually they’ll introduce zooming in with DLOG or HLG?

  30. CradyLab on April 29, 2021 at 11:03 pm

    Gorgeous footage of the Bay Area and I know you were flying under Part 107 but it begs the question: did you have any problems getting LAANC clearance and did you have to make any other prior arrangements in order to fly so close to those buildings in the Financial District?

  31. Liberty Lockdown on April 29, 2021 at 11:03 pm

    certainly seems like a nice tradeup for air 2 owners

  32. Mark Pappas on April 29, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    good to see The Condor make an appearance…

  33. KOOL BROTHA on April 29, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    Oh yeah and don’t forget the DJI no fly zones! I’ll pass

  34. Matt Shockley on April 29, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    Great review! If you had to recommend this drone vs the mavic 2 pro, which would you recommend if money is not the issue? Also, do you have to de-noise your night time / low light footage ?

  35. Mckenzy GH on April 29, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    thank you

  36. David Marte on April 29, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    Still got the OG Mavic air.

  37. Kyle Casey on April 29, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    Do you happen to have a Remote Pilot license when filming for commercial use with the drone?

  38. Gio Trementozzi on April 29, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    When you compare the 5.4K to the 4K and say that it is cropping that it’s really unfair because 4K is meant to be a smaller resolution which means that it will be cropped compared to 5.4

  39. Wenky Innocent on April 29, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    Which should i get for an inexperienced pilot, the 2s or fpv

  40. Md. Ehsanul Islam on April 29, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    At last a proper review of Air 2s. Most other reviews were biased / paid in my opinion. Magic 2 pro is still a better drone than this.

  41. Jundy Tiu on April 29, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Did you ever notice propellers showing in the video while flying?

  42. Cody Cha on April 29, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    Digital zoom in photos is the same as cropping on post…in other words, it’s unnecessary

  43. Gary Norris on April 29, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    It’s the DJI Air 2S , not DJI I Mavic Air 2S.

  44. Peter Leix on April 29, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    I sold my pro 2 when I got the original air 2 because even though it had a smaller sensor it made the same quality image and both suffered from the same problems with image noise. The air 2 however seemed like the mavic 2.5 to me because ocusync three is far superior to 2, the added 4k60 and when subject dictates it’s nice to have. Now that they added a new 1 sensor this drone is a brainer but it makes me think they are going to drop the pro 3 with a full-frame sensor next with 6-8k and at least 4k 60 probably better. I mostly fly cinewhoops now for paid work so this thing is fine, If I’m upgrading my floating tripod it might be to the sony air peak

  45. itowmyhome on April 29, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    I think this came out because top management needed a mid cycle profit boost so it could reflect in the compensation packages

Leave a Comment