DJI Mavic Mini: In-Depth Hands-On Review

Pricing & Full Specs: http://bit.ly/flyasyouare

The DJI Mavic Mini is changing the way we look at flying cameras.
It’s the smallest Mavic drone yet but does not skimp on features.
It has a 3-axis mechanical gimbal, a 12 megapixel camera that shoots 2.7k video and many other features that you’d find in higher cost drones. And its small size and weight make it very appealing. It might just be the perfect first drone for new pilots!

This video takes an in-depth look at this new drone – the camera – the flight characteristics – the new DJI Fly app – the accessories – the footage – and much more! If you are considering buying your first drone or just want a smaller camera drone for travel, you should definitely check out the DJI Mavic Mini and this video will give you a good idea of what to expect!

If you like drones, please consider subscribing to Ready Set Drone.
And check us out on Instagram @readysetdrone

#flyasyouare, #djimavicmini, #flycam

45 Comments

  1. aarifboy on February 10, 2020 at 10:52 pm

    Same drone works on both android and ios systems or for both systems drones r different?

  2. Brent WeirDean on February 10, 2020 at 10:57 pm

    Thanks for the video! I’m Pretty new flying drones and the mavik mini made it extremely easy for me to learn to fly and get great footage. Would definitely recommend getting the fly more combo just because you literally triple your flight time with 2 extra batteries, and the flight guards are great for flying through the woods! couldn’t complain about the price either

  3. Jason Ross on February 10, 2020 at 10:58 pm

    Thanks for this great video. One question unrelated……The microphone system hanging on your collar: What is that? (make/model/etc.)

  4. Ravi kanth Kachibhotla on February 10, 2020 at 10:58 pm

    My first Mavic Mini cinematic video…the entire areal shots in this video are shot on DJI Mavic Mini
    Do check out my video by clicking link below..
    https://youtu.be/M5TPr506adk

  5. Piotr Swieboda on February 10, 2020 at 11:00 pm

    how does it do at night video shooting ? ty

  6. Tech and Outdoor on February 10, 2020 at 11:00 pm

    Great informative video, greetings from South Africa, I am about to purchase yet another drone and your video helped me decide.

  7. Ryan Ingleton on February 10, 2020 at 11:01 pm

    Awesome little piece of equipment !!

  8. Dave Shaw on February 10, 2020 at 11:01 pm

    Was going to buy one but desided not to due to one missing feature…No active track. Heck even the cheapest Chinese models have that and the mavic spark has it.

  9. Keith Flagg on February 10, 2020 at 11:01 pm

    As soon as I found out about it I bought it!

  10. John Gallo on February 10, 2020 at 11:02 pm

    Just bought the combo kit one this morning! I will be using it for work. I’m a Building inspector and having to climb 3 stories on a extension ladder to look at a roof is not my favorite thing in the world. So flying up and taking a look without the worry of falling is a relief! Thanks for the Video, it really sealed the deal on this for me!

  11. Marc Trainor on February 10, 2020 at 11:04 pm

    Boy oh boy, does this seem to have a lot of bang for the buck. I still love my little Spark, but with more flight time, 3 axis gimble, super steadyness, and the price point, what more could you want for about 500 bucks? And I guess that’s for the fly-more combo, wow!! I think I saw the Morman temple in San Diego, (which is where I live, basicly). I know you mentioned going to San Diego. I love the video clarity I’m seeing on this, and if it holds up and doesn’t drop out of the sky like some of the early Sparks did, I’d say it’s a winner. Thanks for another terriffic review. Marc T.

  12. C Davis on February 10, 2020 at 11:04 pm

    Excellent

  13. sicksand4 on February 10, 2020 at 11:06 pm

    was that the mormon temple in San Diego at the end of your vid?

  14. Bugarin Harry on February 10, 2020 at 11:07 pm

    Great video. Comparing the Evo to this Mini, which do you think is a better buy for a first time drone pilot?

  15. Brennan Orca on February 10, 2020 at 11:07 pm

    I got my first drone on Christmas. It’s a tello I live 6 miles drone a airport. But I was reading a lot and the problem of my area is there isn’t many open fields ecsept for a middle school a block away. Is there a rule for flying a small drone like the tello on a campus? Also give me some tips on using a tello I’m new to drones. Can you help me out?

  16. John Zelahy on February 10, 2020 at 11:08 pm

    I have a Phantom 3 Standard and can fly it indoors (VERY carefully) or outdoors at my home but my Mini won’t fly inside or outside of my home because I am within 5 miles of the Greenville-Spartanburg airport. When I pull the sticks down and in it gives me that message that I can delete the requirement, but it doesn’t work. Is there a firmware upgrade that will allow this? I would like to fly my Mini indoors. John

  17. tatsy2009 on February 10, 2020 at 11:09 pm

    Awesomely informative video! Can you tel me what is the name of that song at the end?

  18. Eric Castillo on February 10, 2020 at 11:10 pm

    Whats the flight time and battery charge time

  19. Ray Schindler on February 10, 2020 at 11:11 pm

    13:19 what’s the last background music name ?

  20. Zahidul Hasan on February 10, 2020 at 11:12 pm

    Our market having 1 battery. disappointed

  21. charlie on February 10, 2020 at 11:12 pm

    Your video was fantastic. Loved every minute of it. But I am retired Vietnam vet and I find your videos to be very excellent. I just turned 71 and I have decided to get into this hobby but it won’t be with a Mavic. I will find a lower cost one. Thanks for your video, It got me started into a great hobby.

  22. Keith Stevenson on February 10, 2020 at 11:13 pm

    Just got my Mini today. Its a upgrade from my Iron Man Tello. Thank you cause I watched all your Mini vids and chose this great lil drone.

  23. John Zelahy on February 10, 2020 at 11:14 pm

    For those who don’t know it and want a Mavic Mini NOW, Apple stores carry them for $499 like everyone else. If you order one from DJI it takes weeks.

  24. Monky man on February 10, 2020 at 11:17 pm

    Como desearía tener algun dia un drone dji de esos

  25. John Von Acid on February 10, 2020 at 11:17 pm

    would love to have a drone from you, want it so bad. Greetings from Philippines! Love your channel.

  26. Welcome to Ant's World. on February 10, 2020 at 11:19 pm

    Iv just got a mavic mini drone, and I love it.. Please check out my first flight.. https://youtu.be/GfghgrS46yQ

  27. dfgatorfan on February 10, 2020 at 11:19 pm

    Nice review! Is the Android connector Micro USB or USB C?

  28. Emile Parent on February 10, 2020 at 11:21 pm

    Would be dumb not to buy fly more combo..

  29. Steve Cea on February 10, 2020 at 11:22 pm

    This drone is absolutely terrible!! It’s simply won’t connect to any Android phone that I own!! DJI the company is no help at all !! Sending this drone back for a full refund tomorrow

  30. Tim McGinty on February 10, 2020 at 11:22 pm

    Great video! I just purchased mine because I have been wanting a drone for a while. We are going to Greece in May, so I am glad to see it held up well in winds of 20mph as I heard it can be windy there at times. I loved the portability of this and it will make traveling with it super easy!

  31. EDWARD BELLUSO on February 10, 2020 at 11:24 pm

    excellent presentation…… one of the best on youtube,,

  32. Cody King on February 10, 2020 at 11:25 pm

    Best drone around! By a mile!

  33. Justin Ntamazo on February 10, 2020 at 11:26 pm

    What an amazing review

  34. John Zelahy on February 10, 2020 at 11:28 pm

    Does anyone know of some type of "float" that can be attached to the roof of a mini with fishing leader such that if the bird goes for a swim it will show where it is under the water? It could be attached with something that would quickly dissolve when submerged.

  35. DP C on February 10, 2020 at 11:30 pm

    After a horrendous experience with the osmo pocket not working with most phones, are there any requirements for this? USB-C? Certain models? Can I use a tablet? Nobody seems to mention these important things on Youtube.

  36. Peter James on February 10, 2020 at 11:32 pm

    You are Raymond Reddington

  37. Carl Atkinson on February 10, 2020 at 11:34 pm

    My only worry is the longevity of the batteries on the Mavic mini. 30mins is all good and well as long as they don’t start to reduce flight time farely quicky.
    Will the lithium ion stand the test of time, only time will tell.

  38. oh yeah yeah on February 10, 2020 at 11:34 pm

    Hello, I bought a mavic mini. I have a issue. Lately when i drove inside, the home point takes a very long time to adjust. And when it gets adjusted my compass range bars go to like 11. How do i fix this issue, how do i make the home point adjust faster? Help!

  39. Geir Balderson on February 10, 2020 at 11:39 pm

    Good video but, dumb music at the end.

  40. Ricardo Gutierrez-Diaz on February 10, 2020 at 11:40 pm

    DON’T BUY! DON’T BUY! DON’T BUY! SAVE YOUR MONEY!!! I bought it and flew away after 60 little flights for 3 weeks. The GPS disconnected and "the find my drone" app didn’t work at all. If your drone flyes away… forget it… it will not make sound or light up. Waste of money! I am stuck with a remote and 2 batteries! Check other reviews… the drone sometimes flies away alone, but DJI will tell you that it was not the drone, it was the air or they will come up with something else! In other words… Your fault! They will offer you a courtesy 15% off on another drone.

  41. MISTY HOPP on February 10, 2020 at 11:40 pm

    You didn’t give fly time range etc and other tech specifics?

  42. Brianna Wagner on February 10, 2020 at 11:41 pm

    What does he mean by enhanced WiFi? Would I need WiFi to fly?

  43. Pitseolak Pfeifer on February 10, 2020 at 11:43 pm

    Great video. Thank you. You have a new subscriber. Question: what’s the best strategy to get video of me driving my Harley? Thx. 🙂

  44. CDP Outdoors on February 10, 2020 at 11:46 pm

    Merry Christmas.
    Just subscribed.
    Regards
    Clive
    Western Australia

  45. D. Douthit on February 10, 2020 at 11:51 pm

    Hi, great review. I read that the mavic mini has built in GPS. What does it use the GPS for? And does it have the “follow me” feature built in?

Leave a Comment