Hasselblad X1D II 50C Review: Still a Beautiful Camera To Use

We might not be the most timely review out there when it comes to the Hasselblad X1D II 50C, but how could we give up the chance to try out such an excellent camera along with the (very well-received) 80mm f/1.9 and 45mm f/4 lenses? Here are our thoughts on this beautiful medium-format camera.

Read more here

Hasselblad X1D II 50C Review: Still a Beautiful Camera To Use

To support us, get it on Amazon here
https://amzn.to/38EU7CD

Editor – Bobby Tonelli
Camera/Producer – Bryce Koh
Video Editor – Hui Yee

To know more about Hasselblad
https://www.hasselblad.com/

To know more about the X1D II 50C
https://www.hasselblad.com/x-system/x1d/

To know more about the XCD 45P
https://www.hasselblad.com/x-system/lenses/xcd-4-45p/

To know more about the XCD 80mm f/1.9
https://www.hasselblad.com/x-system/lenses/xcd-1-9-80

Check out Bobby Tonelli
https://www.instagram.com/btonelli/​​

Follow us on
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/tech360tv/​​
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/tech360.tv/

43 Comments

  1. Andrew Ward on May 12, 2021 at 10:33 pm

    Mine’s been on order for over a month. I wish that it would arrive.

  2. Gabriel Chan on May 12, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    Appreciate your review. Like your style , no rubbish talk. Straight to the point, with a good number of images. Thanks.

  3. Wei Li on May 12, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    You need to stop blocking people at the walkway bob lol. Great review nonetheless.

  4. Michael Seneschal on May 12, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    I’ve always admired this camera. I’ll never own it, but will always admire it.

  5. Aalochak on May 12, 2021 at 10:38 pm

    You should give Fujifilm 100s a chance

  6. john murch on May 12, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    Great review. Love the X1D II (also the 907 X), the colours and the DR out of this sensor is fantastic! Thanks!

  7. Michele Jones on May 12, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    Hard to say no to. Absolutely! The minute I win the lottery I will buy one. I would love to have one.

  8. Dominic Lester on May 12, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    Great video, nice thoughts. Adding landscapes and not zooming in and out on images impatiently, would be nice. Why don’t so many presenters give a damn about blocking locals in passageways?

  9. Allen Chiu on May 12, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    Ok, you’ve convinced me to patiently way for the either the X2D or the mklll. Just do everything the GFX100s does and keep current body and menu system, possible?

  10. Tanakorn Chantasuban on May 12, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    I can see what you say about the image quality makes you forget about what is lacking in the camera but what it has. That’s true for me for the Sigma foveon cameras (DPxMs) despite what the other cameramen say. I wonder if you have tested those notorious cameras.

  11. Tri Tham on May 12, 2021 at 10:49 pm

    Man!, finally!!! How long I have waited for your review of this camera. This 18.29 minutes is really a good thing today. Actually I want to know how a photo and the joy to use of this X1DII compare to Leica M10R since I have been thinking about selling M10R to buy this camera for many times because of my curiosity.

  12. Gobekadam on May 12, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    A great review as usual! I wish you also used the leaf shutter to your advantage for a couple samples (with flash), but nevertheless I am still drooling over it!

  13. powerincarnate on May 12, 2021 at 10:52 pm

    While they do have best in class build quality; and they have phenomenal color science (so does Fuji).. but with all of the recent excellent cameras in Full Frame Mirrorless now (Canon R5, Sony A1 for example); and now you have Fuji’s GFX 100S at 5999, basically $250 bucks more than this camera and with cheaper lens, but way better performance, I just don’t see how Hasselblad can compete. Without the GFX100s; you can see the GFX100 was 10K, and humungous. The GFX 50S was large; more expensive. The GFX 50R was descent size, but didn’t look as great, and was not comfortable to grip. While they had some advantages; hasselblad also had advantages that are inherent to the leaf shutter system. NOW; other than brand preference; there really isn’t any great compelling reason to get a hasselblad x1d II.

    If there is a way to economize the manufacturing process..ie less hand build, more machine build, and they found a way to slice $1000 bucks off; they might still have a compelling case.

  14. Coast to Coast Photo on May 12, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    Nice work with the review. I’ve got a Leica S and 3 Hasselblad HC lenses that I use with great results. Every time I see the X1D II, I think I want it. For anyone thinking of getting a Fuji, I believe the X1DII will produce more organic looking images.

  15. dudi flug on May 12, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    Vs A7RIV ?

  16. Greg McKenney on May 12, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    Nice review but WOW on your Triumph! A bike I admired in my youth.

  17. Antoha ZBLSK on May 12, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    After release of GFX100s with 80mm 1.7 it`s literally uncomparable. RIP X1DII:))) I like its design though

  18. Morten Ryming on May 12, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    Thanks for sharing. I upgraded from the H5D to the X1DII in November and ordered the 45P and the 80 1,9. But both lenses was in backorder and still are..

  19. Patrich Clausen on May 12, 2021 at 10:55 pm

    Can you someday maybe cover the Hasselblad xcd 135 f2.8 + 1.7x teleconverter? There is nothing Real World in it at all

  20. Chan Kok Soon on May 12, 2021 at 10:56 pm

    Where did you manage to buy it in SG?

  21. Titya tes on May 12, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    im the first

  22. Heath Holden on May 12, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    I’m debating either this 80mm or the 90mm f/3.2, I know the answer but I’m trying to ignore my brain!

  23. Ron Anderson on May 12, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    Hi Bobby, I have a D850 camera with 4 Nikon lens from wide angle to to the 200mm to 400mm for wildlife. Had a Hasselblad CM 500 in the film days. Great camera, miss it. The Hasselblad was stolen a few years ago. I am interested in both the SL2s and the Hasselblad 907x as a 2nd camera I . As you have used all three camera brands do you think getting a Leica the images would not look much different from the D850? I like the colors coming from the X1D. Medium format is a different camera system so more like apple to oranges. Did you shot it with auto focus off? I am 70years old and hope my eyes could work with this camera. Thank you I like your reviews and your passion…

  24. astrostl on May 12, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    Hasselblad owner here – I would appreciate specific takes between it and Fuji. The absence can make it come across pretty strongly as sponsored content to me. In any case, still appreciate the video!

  25. H3R3 TiK on May 12, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    Is this Stifler’s Italian Cousin?

  26. Carlos Castaneda on May 12, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    The image quality is something else. I wish they had eye AF and IBIS, but I shot a model with this and don’t feel I was lacking anything. That 80mm lens is magic. I want one!

  27. Sergiy Fartukh on May 12, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    Hasselblad Number One! I’ll buy both X1D2 and 907x

  28. Peter Saputra on May 12, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    i prefer the original image than the edited version. Great review as usual.

  29. SG Roadie on May 12, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    Cool video Bobby.

  30. einfussganger on May 12, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    Great review. I have the X1Dii and the 907x and they are amazing cameras. I thought Leica had the best build quality, but Hasselblad puts them to shame. Yes, they’re expensive and have their flaws (if you need speed), but if photography is your art and you are inspired by things of beauty, you owe it to yourself to try the Hasselblad system.

  31. FastAkira on May 12, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    I want to want this camera, but I’ve pre-order the Fuji GFX 100s. Autofocus, ibis, 100mp, cheaper lenses…. But man, many people talk about the colors and tones being better than the ones you find in Fujis cameras. I wonder if that alone is worth the pain of getting a slow and outdated camera, or just go with Fuji and learn how to massage the images to make them look this good. What’s your view?

  32. perfectly_boring on May 12, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    I’d take this over the GFX any day. Thanks for the great review.

  33. Ignacio Cruzat Correa on May 12, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    Good review. The camera have its own market. It is for people who likes cameras and photography. People who is not on a rush. I hope to add the X1D 50C II to my bag soon. Thanks!!!

  34. It Happened In Threes on May 12, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    Hasselblad X1D ii VS Fujifilm GFX 100s?

  35. David Fitcher on May 12, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    Wow, highlight/shadow balance is amazing

  36. Patrich Clausen on May 12, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    Can you maybe make a review on the Hasselblad 65mm f2.8? There is nothing om it

  37. Defund Hollywood on May 12, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    had mine for 6 months and i still treat it like its my first and only girlfriend. you cant really explain it until you put one in your hands and feel that grip. i will never go back to a DSLR again. combine this with some broncolor lights and its a wrap

  38. stephan stojk on May 12, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    Thanks for your enthusiastic review!! love the fact that you’ve mentioned the new grip that was so beautiful on the first version and aligned with the one on the lenses. Hope they will be back on this point (as design is one of their major strenght) on a future iteration that everyone is waiting to compete against the 100s. When are you making a video on image editing as I love the way you process your files!

  39. ADRIAN MACK954 on May 12, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    Nice review but how does it hold up to the new fuji gfx 100s????

  40. Sapan Deshmukh on May 12, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    Oh yeah..gift me that hassleblad with those two lenses..den I would definitely beleive that it’s a grt camera ..even for strrets

  41. gameshoes on May 12, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    I’ve enjoyed mine for like the four sessions outside I’ve gotten to use it during this pandemic. Seeing the new GFX100s, I wonder if I made the right choice. But, I do like some things of the Hassey over Fuji.
    I will disagree on the grip though. It ain’t bad, but I don’t like it as much.

  42. shermster on May 12, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Low key humble brag on the Triumph =D take my likes

  43. GKhan on May 12, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Thank you for the video ! I love the built quality and finish of Hasselblad X1DII. Much better than Fuji cameras.(I have GFX100). Hopefully we can see X1D100C camera in the close future.
    BTW it would be nice to comparison video between XCD 80mm F1.9 vs Fuji GF 80mm F1.7.

Leave a Comment