Huawei MatePad Pro 12.6 (2021) review

The Huawei MatePad Pro 12.6 is one easily likable tablet and it’s a great launch platform for the new HarmonyOS. Check out our video review to learn ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW about the Huawei MatePad Pro 12.6’s top features, build and screen quality, battery life, performance, and camera image quality.

We also go hands-on with the optional M-Pencil and Smart magnetic keyboard.

▶ Read our detailed text review:
https://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_matepad_pro_12_6-review-2278.php

▶ Check out the full tablet specs:
https://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_matepad_pro_12_6_(2021)-10942.php

▶ Track Info: Real Synth Music 9 by Stefan Netsman and Boogieland 3 by Stefan Netsman

▶ Meet our host Will: https://youtu.be/T1V7G68dWKU

Timestamps|Chapters:
0:00 Intro
0:24 Design and build
0:52 12.6” OLED screen with 1600p resolution
1:59 Class-leading stereo speakers, no headphone jack
2:40 Face unlock, no fingerprint scanner
2:51 Stylus operation (Huawei M-Pencil), sold separately
3:22 Smart magnetic keyboard accessory
3:37 Harmony OS and storage options
5:00 Connectivity options
5:46 Kirin 9000 5G (5G version) and Kirin 9000E 5G (Wi-Fi version) performance
6:11 Battery (10,050mAh) endurance and charging (40W) test
6:41 Camera specs
6:50 Daylight photo quality
7:19 Low-light photo quality
7:49 Selfies
8:00 Video quality
8:27 Conclusion

46 Comments

  1. Federico Liguori on December 28, 2021 at 1:51 am

    "Netflix and other streaming services only work in SD". That’s it, I’m out.

  2. dada ki roast on December 28, 2021 at 1:51 am

    Can anyhow i can run android apps on this

  3. Jakob on December 28, 2021 at 1:54 am

    Not even one benchmark so you can put the grunt of this SoC into perspective.
    you have no problem in benchmarking all the other things, like battery and sound etc,, but the chipset.. nope.. but it can run a light android title.. wow thx GSMarena that really give me a good insight into the longetivity of that SoC.
    are you ruling under som strict chinese guidelines where honsesty and transperancy is out with the bathwater… yeah Spain nuff said.
    This is crap, partically for the price they are asking… both the Mipad 5&pro and the Lenovo P11 & P12 is way more attractive IMO and for less.

  4. Armani Shaw on December 28, 2021 at 1:55 am

    Harmony OS is literally just a copy of iOS lol

  5. garreswe on December 28, 2021 at 1:55 am

    Nice review!

    Besides the obvious problem with Google this tablet has issues that are a deal breaker.
    – No fingerprint reader or advanced face recognition
    – Only 60 Hz refresh rate
    – The cool special features like screen sharing are limited to Huawei devices
    – Only support for Huawei expanded memory
    – You have to buy pen and keyboard separately

    I was curious about features like screen sharing but after watching this video I’m totally uninterested.

  6. Asia Bibi on December 28, 2021 at 1:59 am

    I like it

  7. Grateful Trader on December 28, 2021 at 2:00 am

    The only thing they didn’t copy from apple was it’s logo

  8. Edward Gatenew on December 28, 2021 at 2:00 am

    Without the 120 hz s reen refresh rate, it’s a no for me

  9. Aref rziq on December 28, 2021 at 2:02 am

    looks like to IpadOS to me

  10. kakashi1300 on December 28, 2021 at 2:04 am

    At its price the ipad air 4 is a better value

  11. Aleks Developer on December 28, 2021 at 2:04 am

    800 euros for a tablet that doesn’t support google apps, insane.

  12. iT_WASME Me on December 28, 2021 at 2:07 am

    Too expensive for its specs

  13. Jason MB999 on December 28, 2021 at 2:10 am

    if you don;’t even know what the back is made of why are you reviewing it?

  14. Russel Jr. Julius on December 28, 2021 at 2:10 am

    I’m a Huawei fan but for me the Tab S7+ is better in every way. Except possibly the speakers

  15. Ali on December 28, 2021 at 2:10 am

    I wish you had talked about the pen latency ( I do not know whether it is good or bad). I could see from the product page how it is charged but for latency we rely on you

  16. Vjotkr on December 28, 2021 at 2:11 am

    Petal maps saved my ass a few times in a places where Google maps failed.

  17. Trinity Gaming on December 28, 2021 at 2:12 am

    damn that speaker is a beast

  18. janizky on December 28, 2021 at 2:14 am

    Can you olay steam games in it?

  19. Sylvain Lopez on December 28, 2021 at 2:16 am

    bonjour , dernièrement j’ai envoyé ma tablette Huawei chez votre réparateur Huawei parce que le connecteur de charge bouge et sur youtube un réparateur montre comment réparer ! mais votre réparateur voulait me vendre une tablette neuve 300 € parce que ma tablette n’était plus sous garanti achetée 26 04 2018.
    Vraiment je suis dégouté de cette façon de faire et je ne suis pas prêt à acheter du Huawei à nouveau alors que j’avais un téléphone Huawei et une tablette Huawei ! ! !
    le tchat huawei ne m’ont jamais dit ça ! ca devait être réparé et après quand ma tablette est chez vous ça change ça fait escroc ! ! !
    c’est presque de la vente forcé du coup j’ai payé le transport de retour sinon je perdais complétement ! envoyé réparateur Huawei non non mais chez un arnaqueur Huawei mais pas un réparateur donc je vous ferais de la bonne publicité

  20. Job Wong on December 28, 2021 at 2:19 am

    Is it possible to run obs on this matepad pro?

  21. Brand Bunn on December 28, 2021 at 2:20 am

    How much

  22. Dante Gulapa on December 28, 2021 at 2:21 am

    Mas the best pdin dyan Samsung galaxy Tab s7+ mas mgnda lmg porma nyan Matepad pro. Kc 90% bezel..

  23. music Abdi on December 28, 2021 at 2:26 am

    Hi would you compare Huawei matepad 11 and Xiaomi mi pad 5 pro?

  24. Layput on December 28, 2021 at 2:26 am

    They could have captured the market by including a 3.5mm jack.

    If it had a 3.5mm jack, I would choose this over S7+. But since it doesn’t, then there’s really no reason for me to not buy the S7+

  25. ali hamza on December 28, 2021 at 2:28 am

    I love it

  26. Katharina Prendinger on December 28, 2021 at 2:28 am

    hi, what laptop did you use to show mirror mode at 5:13 ?

  27. Joe on December 28, 2021 at 2:29 am

    Chinese iPad Remix

  28. counter fake on December 28, 2021 at 2:31 am

    Is the stylus comparable to apple pencil?
    In term of latency and precision…

  29. William Newland on December 28, 2021 at 2:31 am

    £800! If you have any sense keep away!

  30. Asok Rai on December 28, 2021 at 2:32 am

    Giving verdict by yourself. Huawei better than Samsung tablet.

  31. Demius on December 28, 2021 at 2:32 am

    is there any options for this device to connect camera to it for live view? can install Lightroom? or Photoshop?

  32. Jako b on December 28, 2021 at 2:32 am

    I’m kinda surprised that the screen doesn’t have 120hz like the matepad 11

  33. AGoodBoi on December 28, 2021 at 2:33 am

    im just a kid waiting for my tablet i jusr came here to see the tablet not know everything about it

  34. Shepherd Proto on December 28, 2021 at 2:34 am

    Did Autodesk Sketchbook Pro (and the other sketchbook apps) is available for HarmonyOS?

  35. Direct linkrexx on December 28, 2021 at 2:35 am

    Big no

    Atleast let it atleast have 90hx

  36. Karam D. on December 28, 2021 at 2:35 am

    Can you still install google play on it?

  37. Bader Almutawa on December 28, 2021 at 2:37 am

    Can I download widows on it ?

  38. Marc Vincent Apatan on December 28, 2021 at 2:37 am

    I dont like…

  39. Vin Mac on December 28, 2021 at 2:39 am

    It look like an IPad Pro 12.9” I would like to buy one. However, when I hit buy button, USA isn’t on the list. Is there another way to buy this without leaving USA?

  40. Mikael the Video Maker on December 28, 2021 at 2:40 am

    surprised how no one noticed "i can’t draw, sorry" lol

  41. TERMINATOR on December 28, 2021 at 2:41 am

    Only 60 Hz? Even the Mate Pad Pro 10” is 90Hz…

  42. maomaodoudou on December 28, 2021 at 2:41 am

    Video from selfie camera?

  43. Shrimp Stew on December 28, 2021 at 2:42 am

    I just preordered this. Thank you ❤️

  44. Imad Choucair on December 28, 2021 at 2:44 am

    Good video but it is promotional in a sense you need to validate all pros. Many information mentioned are not correct.
    If the mate pro charges at 40watt and tab S7 plus at 45 watt, how come mate pro does more charging in 30min?

  45. ryan tay on December 28, 2021 at 2:44 am

    Disgusting products, everything directly copy from Apple

  46. Gaming Rig on December 28, 2021 at 2:44 am

    Can you do a video of this Tablet vs the tab s7 plus?

Leave a Comment