Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon Gen 9 Review – PERFECTION

The Lenovo Thinkpad Carbon X1 Carbon has a new Gen 9 model for 2021 and this might just be the best thin and light laptop on the planet right now. The X1’s durability is amazing with water resistance, great build quality and a keyboard that’s one of the best. The Thinkpad X1 battery life, performance, size and weight are something that needs to be discussed but there are some concerns too like the webcam and screen. And the X1 vs XPS 13 conversation needs to happen too.

Buy directly from Lenovo below:
Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 9 – https://lenovo.vzew.net/X19TH
Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 8 – https://lenovo.vzew.net/X18TH

Buy items in this video from Amazon at the links below:
ASUS ROG Swift PG259QNR – https://geni.us/Nk8FH

TIMESTAMPS
0:00 – Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen9 Intro
2:25 – Thinkpad X1 Carbon Price & Specs
3:43 – Exterior Design & Build Quality
4:54 – Size & Weight
5:47 – The BEST Keyboard & Trackpad
7:31 – I/O Ports
8:05 – 4K Screen Analysis
9:23 – A Thinkpad X1 FAN’S Thoughts
11:33 – Webcam & Speakers
13:21 – Thinkpad Upgrade Options
13:53 – X1 Carbon Battery Life
15:00 – Performance Profiles Walkthrough
15:51 – CPU Power, Temperatures & Frequencies Over Time
17:22 – Noise Levels & Surface Temperatures
17:54 – Real-World Performance
18:56 – Gaming Benchmarks
19:33 – Conclusion – The Best Thin & Light Laptop?

GET MERCH ►https://hwcstore.com
SUBSCRIBE ►https://bit.ly/SubHWC

Review unit provided free of charge as a loaner by Lenovo. This video is sponsored by ASUS. As per Hardware Canucks guidelines, no review direction was received from manufacturer. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Gear list (Available on Amazon):
Main Camera (Dmitry) – https://geni.us/SONYA7III
Main Lens (Dmitry) – https://geni.us/Tamron2875
Main Camera (Eber) – https://geni.us/CanonEOS-R
Main Lens (Eber) – https://geni.us/dLL
Main 2nd Lens (Eber) – https://geni.us/Canon24-70MKII
Main Camera Mic (D & E) – https://geni.us/RODEMIC
Cheap 4K Camera (Panasonic G7) – https://geni.us/24nm
Awesome Slider – https://geni.us/1Hwt
Our Shotgun Mic – https://geni.us/Sennheiser-MKE600
—————————————-­——————–
Our full site: https://bit.ly/HardwareCanucks
Join Our Forums: https://bit.ly/HWC_Forums

Follow us for more updates!
Twitter https://bit.ly/HWC_Twitter
FaceBook https://bit.ly/HWC_Facebook
Instagram https://bit.ly/HWC_Instagram
—————————————-­—————

#thinkpadx1carbon #bestlaptop2021 #hardwarecanucks

48 Comments

  1. esotericist on January 13, 2022 at 4:44 am

    i also had the very first thinkpad. Back when I had a head of hair…… hint hint

  2. Christopher O'Rourke on January 13, 2022 at 4:45 am

    How not to do a Review.

  3. mike hunt on January 13, 2022 at 4:47 am

    So you where sponsored yet use another youtubes video for your sponsoredship?

  4. Ghost Buster on January 13, 2022 at 4:47 am

    I’m crying in corner as I’m poor 🙁

  5. A Aron on January 13, 2022 at 4:47 am

    I’ve had three x1 carbon. I won’t buy any other laptop for business use. Am software dev. Keyboard is perfect.

  6. Eddie O. on January 13, 2022 at 4:48 am

    Thinkpads have always been the gold standard for superior engineering on a Windows platform.
    IBM, the parent company that engineered Thinkpad technology built the first electronic computer ever and that legacy of excellence has not been compromised. Thinkpads, MacBooks and Toshiba are the best quality laptops available today, in my opinion.

  7. Oyehadid on January 13, 2022 at 4:50 am

    Thank you for the review. I got my laptop at ~1300$ for the i5 model (16G Ram, 1080p) with a college discount. Could’ve go for the i7 but I doubt I would ever find full use of it :)!

    A small red flag: It takes roughly 10 weeks for it to ship to my home.

    I’m very privileged to have a small surface laying around (my x1 is to replace it) otherwise it would have been a slight inconvenience in college.

  8. Vladimir Ljubopytnov on January 13, 2022 at 4:51 am

    Nope, Intel needs to step up their game. Its not AMDs fault that they don’t even need to use their latest architecture against this.

  9. Mario Tomaselli on January 13, 2022 at 4:51 am

    Very interesting, Thank you.
    Does it work with the standard docking station?

  10. C. M. on January 13, 2022 at 4:51 am

    I just wish it had RJ45

  11. david moheban on January 13, 2022 at 4:53 am

    Was wondering if you had to pick either a FHD 2.8 ghz i7 vs UHD 3.0 ghz i7 which one would you go with and how many hours of battery would you expect? Thanks

  12. cluxter - on January 13, 2022 at 4:54 am

    8:50 I’m so glad that you opened the lid to its limit. It’s very important to me that I can open it as much as I want. On some laptops (like Apple) you can’t entirely open the lid, it blocks at some point which is supposed to be the optimal angle, but some people are taller/shorter than others, and there are cases where you want to be able to open the lid more. Please include this "test" in all your future laptops reviews, some people need to know this information. Great review BTW!

  13. Colin Wong on January 13, 2022 at 4:54 am

    Hi. Legion 5 pro or ThinkPad X1 Carbon ? (Mainly for video editing, programming, animation) Appreciate for any reply.

  14. Cesar Alf M S on January 13, 2022 at 4:58 am

    "A laptop that focus on the masses"
    Those words are not without some sense of irony. Not everyone can afford this wonderful device, which is, in many ways, the best laptop I have ever used.
    For now, I’ll keep my X1 6the gen. It still amazes me, but when the time comes, the 9the gen will be mine.

  15. Stephan Schmidtke on January 13, 2022 at 4:58 am

    Fuer die Arbeit beim Auswärtigen Amt perfekt danke

  16. Tansola on January 13, 2022 at 4:58 am

    What is your suggestion for its docking station ? Less than $100. Thanks

  17. Elias KOUAKOU on January 13, 2022 at 4:59 am

    That price without even a rtx 2060 in it? Lol.

  18. Szymon Nowak on January 13, 2022 at 5:00 am

    T480s, i7 8gen, 40GB Ram, First driver Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe , and second drive 512 NVM in WAN port. Ethernet, USBC, USB3, Hdmi. Best daily for IT admin.

  19. Shilanjoy Bhattacharjee on January 13, 2022 at 5:02 am

    Using this in Lab is lit….

  20. mzamroni on January 13, 2022 at 5:03 am

    that ssd didnt work becaue the m.2 wlan port is not b/m keyed

  21. rudo vkoe on January 13, 2022 at 5:03 am

    How does this laptop comparing to dell xps 13/15?

  22. Donatas Svilpa on January 13, 2022 at 5:05 am

    It’s garbage. Trust me, I owned gen 7th, it the market promise on durability, reliability is total BS. Get an apple, don’t waste your money on this.

  23. James Daymord on January 13, 2022 at 5:07 am

    omg that webcam is horrendous !!!!!

  24. Johan den Hertog on January 13, 2022 at 5:08 am

    Great for ChessBase.

  25. Jehona Ahmeti on January 13, 2022 at 5:09 am

    I just picked up one for 1000, original price $2450. I should’ve watched this video first, Lol!

  26. J Hock BBQ on January 13, 2022 at 5:09 am

    x201

  27. 525Peyman on January 13, 2022 at 5:13 am

    So, is SSD upgradable?!

  28. Eslin Leiva on January 13, 2022 at 5:13 am

    I need confirmation. I can get an X1 carbon for 1500 1tb 32 ram i7 processor and the 4K screen. Should I go for it?

  29. Cesar Lopez on January 13, 2022 at 5:14 am

    Too expensive for so low specs

  30. Tetex on January 13, 2022 at 5:15 am

    Thank god it is a glossy screen. MacBooks screens are also glossy and nobody complains about them. Non-glossy screens look like shit. The text is blurry and images and videos look much worse. No thanks.

  31. B H on January 13, 2022 at 5:16 am

    Great review. thanks. Let me know,do you recommend Win 11 or Win 10? I have the XPS 13 now. Would you recommend the X1 over a new XPS, or go with another XPS13? I do a lot of photo editing with Adobe suite of products.

  32. Laurynas Karvelis on January 13, 2022 at 5:24 am

    Seeing this video on my 6 y/o macbook pro it just feels this laptop is still MILES ahead of X1 carbon 😀

  33. CVArts on January 13, 2022 at 5:24 am

    You should review ThinkPad Nano it’s better than X1 Carbon Gen 9.

  34. Michael Duke on January 13, 2022 at 5:26 am

    I have the 6th gen as my private laptop and just got this 9th gen for my job. One thing that infuriates me about this line is docking options, which for a computer built primarily for productivity is a massive, massive oversight. Every single time I dock my 6th gen through the thunderbolt 3 dock to my external monitors I have to spend 15 minutes troubleshooting cords and drivers. It just doesn’t work like it should. And that wastes a lot of my time.

    Really hoping the 9th gen is somehow different but I’m just not convinced thunderbolt is a viable docking methodology.

  35. Guru Gamer on January 13, 2022 at 5:27 am

    Which one you prefer x1 carbon gen 9 or Surface pro 8?

  36. Home Arathy on January 13, 2022 at 5:27 am

    Thinkpad series is a solid laptop ..but apple m1 chips and architecture is totally a game changer

  37. eugene santos on January 13, 2022 at 5:28 am

    Hi, does this model includes an LTE sim?

  38. RADER FPV on January 13, 2022 at 5:31 am

    Why is it so difficult to get a decent web cam in a laptop? After all these years, they still suck for the most part.

  39. TheOnlyEpsilonAlpha on January 13, 2022 at 5:32 am

    What happend to the keyboard and the camera? OMG that gotten so much worse

  40. Gurmeet Singh on January 13, 2022 at 5:32 am

    Do you recommend Microsoft Surface Pro 8 or X1 Carbon Gen 9?

  41. S D on January 13, 2022 at 5:33 am

    Attari with a big screen
    Not on 14 15 sceeen devices

  42. ng ivan on January 13, 2022 at 5:33 am

    amd apu is better than intel igpu?

  43. Nomad on January 13, 2022 at 5:36 am

    the gen 9 is total garbage, the BIGGEST difference between this and the gen 6 is the one that you just happen to skip, the fans have been moved to the bottom of the laptop, and the laptop has been raised a bit to allow air flow to go to the sides, which made this laptop one of the loudest out there! , they created an echo sound which amplified the sound by at least 10x than before, just horrible to sit in a quiet room with this machine, i paid over 3k $ for this machine and end up using my old gen 6 , and of course lenovo dont give a crap, completely ignoring the customer and will not even consider changing to a different model(the nano for example) , this will be my LAST lenovo , will not go near this company again, and i have about 6 previous models from them.

  44. Toma on January 13, 2022 at 5:37 am

    I find it ironic how you say “this is where AMD needs to step up its game, because it’s vega architecture is really starting to show its age” as a benchmark where the vega powered laptop is the only one able to play the game (19:30) Not hating, just found it funny

  45. Simon on January 13, 2022 at 5:38 am

    Name of th Wallpaper 8:10 ? pls is so nice

  46. LovesCanary on January 13, 2022 at 5:39 am

    is there going to be a 10th gen sometime soon? im planning on getting one for work.

  47. Lucas Persson on January 13, 2022 at 5:42 am

    please start including mozilla compile test in the benchmarks

  48. Huaicheng Liu on January 13, 2022 at 5:43 am

    12:05 OMG no offense but it makes you look like a zombie!

Leave a Comment