Panasonic BGH1 Hands-on Review: Panasonic's new box camera

Watch our Panasonic BGH1 review to find out why we think Panasonic’s new box camera has so much potential: flexible rigging, small size, SDI connections, updated V-Log L, remote operation and more!

Music provided by BeatSuite.com
http://www.beatsuite.com

Equipment provided by The Camera Store
http://www.thecamerastore.com

———————–
DPReview.com is the world’s largest digital camera review website. Welcome to our YouTube channel! Subscribe for new feature videos, reviews, interviews and more.

Discover the world’s most in-depth digital camera reviews at http://www.dpreview.com

49 Comments

  1. what we do in the shadows on March 6, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    how is that a box camera? it’s way too complicated and has way too many moving parts.

    please stop using the wrong terminology.

  2. TVC Weddings on March 6, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    yow, wtf – if you switch cameras, why do you switch a location?

  3. Wicked Houston on March 6, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    panasonic camcorder still looks better

  4. Rod Rocketon on March 6, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    So, this is virtually useless to indy filmmakers?

  5. Retro Film Worx on March 6, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    this design reminds me of the Z Cam. did Panasonic rip off Z cam or…?

  6. Anindya Mitra on March 6, 2021 at 10:43 pm

    Atleast the camera didn’t shift the focus point on the deer in the background, Panasonic is optimising the Contrast detect I guess

  7. Vin Uru on March 6, 2021 at 10:43 pm

    Z cam much? Much too much!

  8. Michael DS on March 6, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    Anyone know if I could hook up my Android phone to the BGH1 via HDMI adapter and use it as an external monitor?

  9. That Quiet asian kid on March 6, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    Is this Arthur Morgan’s camera?

  10. ekphotography on March 6, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    I am guessing the Panasonic CEO will jump off a building soon, and hopefully land on the team that designed this.

  11. Cobalt Photo on March 6, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    Stealing ZCAM design is lame…

  12. JayHappyDay on March 6, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    what’s up with all the jitter at 3:11?

  13. dallatorretdu on March 6, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    maybe it’s the correct camera choice for livestreams

  14. Kevin van Diest on March 6, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    Jordan really is getting better with presenting….good job!

  15. Lawrence Ed Ramirez on March 6, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    Am I the only one who noticed the Criterion Collection shirt?

  16. Jean Roch on March 6, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    Those huge connector covers look like they would be a *major* annoyance, flopping around and interfering with a camera cage. Can they be removed without tearing them off ?

  17. Bush Camping Tools on March 6, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    U say 10Bit 422 but other reviews from Panasonic say 10bit 420? Who is right? High end web cam? That’s OTT if ur using that. What about external screen control in the field? LOL, using the "covid era" as an excuse to market the camera??/ What gives??? So I guess it’s not a 4K competitor with 13 stops of DR in the field as apposed to something of similar size? Did you ever test this out?

  18. Youthure on March 6, 2021 at 10:53 pm

    Panasonic made this camera to let Jordan shine

  19. Mark Job on March 6, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    *Uhhhh, MFT ? NOPE ! Uhhhh BGH1 ? NOPE ! I will save my sheckles and go for the S1H instead. It has, well……Everything !*

  20. Eric Triplett on March 6, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    I hope DPReview can continue to give us great reviews like this one on portable video-centric cameras from Blackmagic, Red, ZCam, and others. Even a review of the new Panasonic camcorders would be great. I know the sensors are small but they seem very capable. Thank you for your excellent work.

  21. Daniel Dougan on March 6, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    Now Netflix-approved!

  22. Barry Maskell on March 6, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    Kodak predicted the future with the Box Brownie

  23. ✔️ YOLO NYC by Eric David (watch my channel!) on March 6, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    Did he even see Bambi foreging behind him while the auto focus kept failing??

  24. Amber Gurung on March 6, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    I am surprised these guys , was out of cave did not mention how similar it looks to zcam ,

  25. cineffect on March 6, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    Would take BMMCC anytime over this one.

  26. Peter Navanac on March 6, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    Superb, well researched review. Provided just the info I was looking for. Subscribed to your channel. Appreciate the quality content.

  27. Shane McLachlan on March 6, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    Just a bootleg Z CAM…

  28. Bobby Stefano on March 6, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    horrible! Its 2021. Is Panasonic serious? How much does Panasonic pay you? No offense there is nothing good about this camera. 2015 tech now in a box.

  29. Matthew Johnson on March 6, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    DEER @ 3:55

  30. Reedith Graham on March 6, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    What lens was used during the webcam test ?

  31. o o on March 6, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    do vido bout camera

  32. Jeremy Duncan on March 6, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Two quick questions
    1. can you power it on and off remotely?
    2. can you load a custom LUT and output that over SDI?
    Thanks

  33. Edo H D on March 6, 2021 at 11:21 pm

    Have not watched this guy since he switched from camera store to DPreview, glad you doing well buddy….

  34. Jamal Peoples on March 6, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    You can get a comparable ZCam at half the cost.

  35. Insulinspike on March 6, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    At first I was thinking this was more of a crash cam but now I feel this is engineered toward a multi cam studio setup.

  36. CardiUno on March 6, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    I love the audio, can anyone tell me what was used to capture the sound in this ep?

  37. Chris O'Grady on March 6, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    That name is just making me think of the BFG from DOOM

  38. RussellCane on March 6, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Bad Z-Cam clone…

  39. John Lenin on March 6, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    A “small” camera that requires a laptop to use.

  40. kim Tang on March 6, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Should at least deep into Zcam for a little if u gona even talk about Blackmagic one lol

  41. Dan Hitchman on March 6, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    The BIG problem with this camera is that it still has a lower to low light hampered micro 4/3 sensor. Raise the price by a little bit and slap in a better, less noise prone Super35 sensor at least. As is, this is basically a G Series camera with already outdated guts in a square body with gimped SDI ports (the video output specs via SDI are less than HDMI when it should have allowed for Camera RAW output). I don’t think I would ever get another micro 4/3 camera because of how often you need to tinker with the noisy footage, and that’s even when taking the time to make sure the exposure is right. A bright, sunny day? No problem-o, but start to get past the golden hour look and the footage is noise city requiring NEAT or some other tool… and that takes extra time away from the production.

  42. joerogrz on March 6, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    I wanna be a video guy…

  43. URIBeFILM on March 6, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Excellent video breakdown!

  44. GLASSFILM on March 6, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    a7siii still takes the cake. Can you get me mine already!!!! Im on the list !

  45. Eric Tidmore on March 6, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    Thank god they included a full featured hot shoe for flash and audio, but honestly this footage looks no better than what a GH5 can put out. Not worth anywhere near a grand IMO.

  46. RoofRack2 on March 6, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    I have to say – that’s a bloody excellent review of the capabilities of this thing. I’ve been assuming webcams will move in this direction – £2k not viable for home use really though. And what streamers want I think is lots of shots, so cheap bodies, not powerful ones. At the moment I am using 1/3" chips in CCTV bodies that cost £80 and with MF lenses that cost £8 to £30. The system is great, but the quality is still low. But I could put 20 different shots in a room for the price of one of these without a lens. I won’t get the resolution, which is amazing in your video, but it still comes quite a way down my list, and I suspect, for most streamers. So this feels like it’s still for a kind of pro/v high end amateur market. If they think my market is the future and want to get a volume product out, I want an even cheaper body system. A box with a hole at one end and a chip at the other. Aperture, shutter, focus and power going in – data coming out. Everything else should be modular/expandable. Want SDI out, battery in, SD card slots – buy separately. 20 cameras in a room is unlikely, but three is very, very likely – four easily in teaching set ups. I don’t know if they want this market – but someone is going to fill it. And the bodies are going to be simpler and even more modular and they are going to cost $250 each I’m afraid – but every teacher, every trainer, even a lot of sales people in the world – are going to have three each. And maybe one fancy one.

  47. DP C on March 6, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    About time! The gh4 had all of this stuff and the gh5 stipped it all away! It’s so nice to see them FINALLY have an update to the GH4 that’s more serious. It’s not as cutting edge as it should be, but it’s a good step. I don’t think blackmagic are too worried.

    Also, the GH cameras have always had a touch screen you can turn off, that’s the best part.

  48. doblebo on March 6, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    5:02 there was a Sasquatch sharing this shot with him moving through the brush… why did you guys edit him out?

  49. Sway Molina on March 6, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    I’m more interested in how this video (shot on V-log) was graded. Very nice!

Leave a Comment