Review – The Cheapest Leica You Can Buy! – Leica X1

I often get asked about cheap cameras and also about cheap Leicas.
Because wether you like it or not they produce a special look and colors that many find desirable.
The X1 is the cheapest purebred Leica I know of.

Video recorded with:
Fuji X-Pro2,
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1210892-REG/fujifilm_16488618_x_pro2_mirrorless_digital_camera.html/BI/20174/KBID/14247

35mm f1.4,https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/839139-REG/Fujifilm_16240755_35mm_f_1_4_XF_R.html/BI/20174/KBID/14247
Manfrotto Befree,
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1273964-REG/manfrotto_mvkbfr_liveus_befree_live_video.html/BI/20174/KBID/14247

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mattiasburling/
Blog: https://www.gunpowdervideo.com

Music: ”Clocks Set”, Silent Partner

43 Comments

  1. Island urchin on January 11, 2022 at 4:26 am

    Best budget under 400.00 noob camera?

  2. Matthew Wood on January 11, 2022 at 4:28 am

    Please tell me where to get one of these for $200 lol.

  3. william goss on January 11, 2022 at 4:33 am

    Lovely images and lovely words about a gorgeous looking camera … I’ll hv to have a look for one, see what it feels like.. (haha !! U always create beautiful images; I’m not sure it’s got a great deal to do with the camera ..).

  4. Gianuelle Mae Mangaya on January 11, 2022 at 4:33 am

    Can i take videos wtih that too?

  5. DCAMM720 on January 11, 2022 at 4:33 am

    "Nobody likes the manual focus rings on the Fujis"

    Looks around nervously, loving the manual focus rings

  6. Jovannie Liu on January 11, 2022 at 4:35 am

    I have a question:
    Does it have bluetooth that i can connect to the app?

  7. Andrew Dale on January 11, 2022 at 4:36 am

    I’ve owned a lot of Leicas. The one I really regret selling is the X1

  8. fuji on January 11, 2022 at 4:37 am

    Where can I get it for 200 dollars???

  9. Pat Green on January 11, 2022 at 4:38 am

    I just wanted to thank you. This is the 2nd time I have bought a camera because of your reviews. They are not based in gear is all and you need money. This is seeped in passion and it has changed the way I look at gear and photography. I love photography and have since I was 13. I have a kid in college and do not have the money for the latest and the greatest. I bought the 5D classic awhile back after your review and love it. Fo the Leica X1 I found a great deal online from a nice person. Leica X1 with viewfinder and 3 batteries in excellent shape for a low price. I cannot wait to use it for street during my lunch breaks in Chicago. Other than my Pentax Q, I have not used a compact in ages. This was long, but I appreciate your channel and your approach to photography. Also, your dog is amazing!

  10. Richard Yeung on January 11, 2022 at 4:38 am

    I had the Leica X2 for 18 months with great satisfaction. This pushed me to upgrade and bought Leica X with f/1.7 aperture one year ago. Those are fantastic cameras with good colour as well as auto focusing.

  11. Jonathan Ellard on January 11, 2022 at 4:39 am

    I had a M8 and now have a M262. I miss the IQ of the M8. Is the X1 IQ more similar to the M8? I need a compact to compliment the M262 and either this or the excellent GR ii fits the bill both budget wise and IQ. This would be for travel and landscape not action. In your opinion which is the better camera for pure IQ. (Both 28mm and 35mm fov are fine by me so thats not a consideration).

  12. unbroken1010 on January 11, 2022 at 4:40 am

    Someone selling a x two for $800 but I think it’s too much what did you think of the Velux 114

  13. Corot Images on January 11, 2022 at 4:41 am

    Thanks for the video I thought I heard you say you saw it for $200? Cheapest I have seen it 450 can you tell me where you saw it for that price and was it a parts Camera? Thanks

  14. Liaw Jia Yong on January 11, 2022 at 4:44 am

    Are any of your photo edited? Or straight out from camera

  15. william goss on January 11, 2022 at 4:45 am

    Really lovely images !!

  16. James Quinn on January 11, 2022 at 4:47 am

    I’d like to know where you seen this on sale for $200 because everywhere I looked is selling them for almost a grand or more

  17. Maria Fernanda Quezada on January 11, 2022 at 4:47 am

    Do you know the main difference between the X1 and X-E typ 102?

  18. NoBody on January 11, 2022 at 4:48 am

    3:38 When you make epic content so Stan Lee decided to do a cameo

  19. Damian Mapplebeck on January 11, 2022 at 4:49 am

    I’ve just bought an X2, hoping it lives up to expectations!

  20. The Deviant Developer IDW Podcast on January 11, 2022 at 4:51 am

    Where the 4K at?

  21. Luën Iopue on January 11, 2022 at 4:53 am

    Hi Mattias, I saw you use the Leica X2 few month ago, is it worth the extra money compare to the X1 ? Thank you

  22. John Smith on January 11, 2022 at 4:53 am

    I wonder if the Leica cameras in the P40 is better then the X1.

  23. barry fullick on January 11, 2022 at 4:53 am

    Great build quality, and excellent portability.. .but sorry Leica, the screen defeated my attempts to use it in anything other than very moderate light levels. Traded for the often disparaged M8. Love it. Not as pocketable as an X1 but it’s viewfinder and operational simplicity make it a joy to use. My default mode for instant readiness and street use is aperture priority tied to f8, zone focusing, and be there. The lenses allow half stop click counting to make aperture changes easy and accurate while the camera is held to the eye Manual operation is as simple as it gets, no time consuming complex menus, and sub menus to navigate, The Kodak sensor works well with the various Leica and Voigtlander lenses I hang on it. I have not found the lack of Megapixels (only 10.3) to be a hindrance, as I rarely print larger than A4. When I do it’s only A3. I can easily live with its shortcomings and am unlikely to be tempted to buy a later in many ways superior model. I like the image quality and ease of utility. There is nothing that gets in the way. Superbly simplicated.

  24. taras tarkov on January 11, 2022 at 4:57 am

    Such extreme variations in used price astonish me, I think it may be a good camera but limited, I notice lots of loss of detail in the shadows, and or a weak range of contrast.

  25. M AKLife on January 11, 2022 at 4:57 am

    2020: Impossible to get for $200…. it’s $750 and up. Ridiculous. Especially for something old. I love Leica but not worth it.

  26. ken morley on January 11, 2022 at 4:58 am

    You talked me into buying one .

  27. Marcel Tzara on January 11, 2022 at 5:01 am

    thanks for such a succinct and fabulously illustrated video

  28. Michael Bruchas on January 11, 2022 at 5:03 am

    I just bought one – December 2021.
    My beloved DeLuxe 3 is long dead….

  29. Mert Sönmez on January 11, 2022 at 5:06 am

    In my country there is a seller sell his x1 with 24mm l vizor, original strap and auto lens cap to 2500 turkish liras it equals to 434$ is it a good price for x1 or should ı buy different camera?

  30. Archie Pope on January 11, 2022 at 5:07 am

    Hey mattias,
    I came back through some of your older videos like this one in search of my first leica to be some fun along side my fujifilm. I was going to get the X1 but came across another leica, the Digilux 2. Ive heard around from lieca forums about this old thing. I have know clue what to think about it so i was wondering if you being a leica user before would know anymore about this than i do???

  31. Mario Egger on January 11, 2022 at 5:07 am

    love it!

  32. Ivo Iyo on January 11, 2022 at 5:08 am

    Hello Mattias!
    Mine arrived this week!
    I’m enjoying a lot!
    Thanks!

  33. Bluerug on January 11, 2022 at 5:08 am

    Hey! Do you recommend buying a Leica X2 (well, more precisely the Leica X-E, the typ 102) in 2019? I am a beginner photographer, i used to shoot with my iPhone’s camera, but because of the lack of sensor size and proper manual controls, i would like to buy a small compact digital camera, for getting great quality photos, and also for practicing manual photography. I would like to buy a Leica camera, as of the design, color science and premiumness. So should i buy the Leica X2? Or should i look for another camera?

  34. UnderBridge Rock on January 11, 2022 at 5:12 am

    I love my X2, still relevant in 2020 to me

  35. Irvin de jong on January 11, 2022 at 5:12 am

    Thx man, i did buy the X1 today

  36. Db Maud on January 11, 2022 at 5:13 am

    What do you think about Leica D-Lux 3?

  37. Pandji Christian on January 11, 2022 at 5:16 am

    Love your videos. I have an X2 and still love it now. Leica is substance, not just a brand.

  38. Douglas Gottlieb on January 11, 2022 at 5:19 am

    Are those REALLY the out of camera “Leica colors.” Because they sure look like Matthias colors and contrast, which are AWESOME. I see consistently awesome colors, contrast, and the world’s cutest dog in all your reviews. Please do a post processing video and save me from buying a 10 year old X1. Happy holidays!

  39. Gianluca Calisti on January 11, 2022 at 5:20 am

    Really, really  love this camera

  40. Dr. Steven Penny, M.D. on January 11, 2022 at 5:20 am

    Made in Germany?

  41. Reyne Habon on January 11, 2022 at 5:21 am

    Are these images straight from the camera? No post editing? Nice channel Subscribed!

  42. william goss on January 11, 2022 at 5:22 am

    Excellent videos !!

  43. Reuben on January 11, 2022 at 5:23 am

    I have the XPro 2 and was looking at images online with this Leica X1. I wonder if still hold up in 2019-2020

Leave a Comment