The best drone under $500 (DJI Mini 2 review)

The DJI Mini 2 is the best drone under $500. DJI’s first Mavic Mini drone was clearly made for people making their first step into the drone world. But its successor, the Mini 2 which now supports OcuSync and has an improved camera makes a very strong argument for even more experienced pilots and content creators.

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics policy: http://bit.ly/2TQsqjB

You can get your DJI Mini 2 here: https://amzn.to/2LD38DN

Learn more: http://bit.ly/3pakQwh

Subscribe: http://goo.gl/G5RXGs
Subscribe to Verge Science: http://bit.ly/2FqJZMl

Community guidelines: http://bit.ly/2D0hlAv
Wallpapers from The Verge: https://bit.ly/2xQXYJr

Subscribe: http://goo.gl/G5RXGs
Like The Verge on Facebook: https://goo.gl/2P1aGc
Follow on Twitter: https://goo.gl/XTWX61
Follow on Instagram: https://goo.gl/7ZeLvX

Why’d You Push That Button Podcast: https://pod.link/1295289748
The Vergecast Podcast: https://pod.link/430333725
More about our podcasts: https://www.theverge.com/podcasts

Read More: http://www.theverge.com
Community guidelines: http://bit.ly/2D0hlAv
Wallpapers from The Verge: https://bit.ly/2xQXYJr

Subscribe to Verge Science on YouTube, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: http://bit.ly/2FqJZMl

46 Comments

  1. Publ1c One on March 24, 2021 at 9:00 pm

    If your judgement on wearing masks in anyway reperesents your judgement on this product NO WAY I am interested. You are in a FOREST … ALONE …. Man, the levels of ignorance this displays is reaching new heights.

  2. Raul Hernandez on March 24, 2021 at 9:00 pm

    Great review! Thank you

  3. Meco on March 24, 2021 at 9:00 pm

    Not Dieter did a great job on this review

  4. Ben Cooper on March 24, 2021 at 9:04 pm

    Weird question but… that sage hoodie, where’s it from?

  5. Don Engel on March 24, 2021 at 9:06 pm

    Could this be paired with the headset used by the FPV, since it uses Ocusync?

  6. MasJoko on March 24, 2021 at 9:08 pm

    should i but this mini 2, mavic air 2 or just wait the new drone to launch tomorrow?

  7. JD Velez on March 24, 2021 at 9:09 pm

    Been researching which drone to buy for a while!! Just purchased the mavic mini 2 on amazon!! Crossing my fingers!! Thanks for the review!!

  8. brandnaqua on March 24, 2021 at 9:09 pm

    i like it!

  9. Glen Smith on March 24, 2021 at 9:10 pm

    Fantastic drone, but not the best drone under $500.

  10. Im 12 on March 24, 2021 at 9:12 pm

    cries in 1k Ausralian for the combo

  11. James Patton on March 24, 2021 at 9:14 pm

    the video footage you got was all fantastic

  12. Ryan Kim on March 24, 2021 at 9:15 pm

    Was hoping the new mini would have sensors for obstacle avoidance. Guess I’m going to have to wait to buy for the next version :/

  13. Сергей Антонов on March 24, 2021 at 9:15 pm

    Классное видео! Респект автору!

  14. Omar Ahmad on March 24, 2021 at 9:15 pm

    This video reminded me how beautiful San Francisco is

  15. The Verge on March 24, 2021 at 9:17 pm

    There is always SO much to test and talk about when it comes to drones. If you want to know more about anything specific or you think I missed something, please let me know down in the comments and we can chat! — Vjeran

  16. Radycal on March 24, 2021 at 9:18 pm

    you broke my ears just for that transition?

  17. American Movie Podcast on March 24, 2021 at 9:20 pm

    I wish it had auto tracking and a bigger sensor

  18. arturo sanchez on March 24, 2021 at 9:22 pm

    No fly zone you fly in restricted areas FAA is watching you

  19. Bian Magic on March 24, 2021 at 9:24 pm

    The reason why I think the Mini series will never get sensors is because it will kill the Mavic air Series. If the Minis had sensors there will be no reason to get the air.

  20. Brian Wood on March 24, 2021 at 9:24 pm

    What pack are you using in this video?

  21. Marjukka Heikkinen on March 24, 2021 at 9:29 pm

    I love these shots of SF. They’re so beautiful.

  22. Murtz T on March 24, 2021 at 9:31 pm

    What kinda face mask was that you had on @ 1:39?

  23. W H on March 24, 2021 at 9:33 pm

    Why are you wearing a mask outside?

  24. doug riter on March 24, 2021 at 9:33 pm

    Cool review.

  25. TERMINAL OUTDOORS on March 24, 2021 at 9:33 pm

    I love my DJI mini 2. I have flown it in about every condition I could think of, and made a few videos to show.

  26. H B on March 24, 2021 at 9:33 pm

    Do I still need a permit for it in the us? In Canada, we need a permit for everything over 0.25 kilograms
    Thanks

  27. Miku on March 24, 2021 at 9:35 pm

    What editing app do you use?

  28. Speaker Subject on March 24, 2021 at 9:35 pm

    Umm I think you forgot the Battery life of one flight… That’s the important one too.

  29. Daily life on March 24, 2021 at 9:39 pm

    Finally quite a disappointing drone. Is there another brand that offers better results for this range of price ?

  30. Wesley Chapman on March 24, 2021 at 9:39 pm

    where’s 3:32 called?

  31. Abraham Tario on March 24, 2021 at 9:39 pm

    If I buy now… dji will drop mini3.. reason why I haven’t bought one haha

  32. Diego Teliz on March 24, 2021 at 9:42 pm

    Great review but… man! those drones shots are awesome!

  33. C. on March 24, 2021 at 9:43 pm

    Is the "green chromatic aberations" a Verge signature video look? I think I’ve seen it before, but it looks interesting, a bit vintage. 🙂

  34. Dale A on March 24, 2021 at 9:48 pm

    Stimulus passed. Mini2 soon.

  35. Jake Randolph on March 24, 2021 at 9:50 pm

    What software do you use to edit these videos?

  36. Stacy Moore on March 24, 2021 at 9:50 pm

    seriously, the mask in the woods? he must follow that famous tennis player Labron James i think his name is; driving a convertible alone with a mask on.

  37. Tyler Mccreery on March 24, 2021 at 9:51 pm

    Go peep out some my videos shot on the mavic air 2 at McCreery187

  38. just for fun on March 24, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    average Joe does not know how to edit and make it look cinematic …. was expecting that row footage and review about that

  39. G Star on March 24, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    LOL. This fool wearing a mask outdoors with no one else around. Are people really that stupid?

  40. H4n Mil on March 24, 2021 at 9:54 pm

    Never had a drone before, for photo to counter the noise can it be set to take a few seconds of exposure since it can be floating in the air?

  41. Jun on March 24, 2021 at 9:56 pm

    Very nice drone. Indeed, very user-friendly for beginners.

  42. Democrat Pro on March 24, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    stupid mask

  43. Toby and James Goldsmith on March 24, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    3:00 is that a…..CAT?!?

  44. Johanon Zimmerman on March 24, 2021 at 9:58 pm

    You lost my respect when you wore a mask outside.

  45. Andrew Pollack on March 24, 2021 at 9:59 pm

    Great work! This drone sells itself, but your videography makes it even more compelling

  46. Víctor H. Flores on March 24, 2021 at 9:59 pm

    Seems that everyone on verge must sound like dieter

Leave a Comment